Life Energy Blog

About the root chakra and how to do chakra balancing

About the root chakra and how to do chakra balancing

Chakra balancing is becoming very popular in the west. It is an Eastern practice that has been used for hundreds if not thousands of years. There is a lot of information about the chakras but finding it all and then digesting the information isn’t so easy. I am doing a series of articles about each individual chakra with as many facts as I can find.

Chakra is a Sanskrit word which means “wheels of light”. They are wheel like vortices of pure energy that spin and are sometimes referred to as lotuses. Traditionally there are seven chakras that lie along the nave of the spine. G.J Jug called chakras the “gateway to consciousness”. Each individual chakra has its own purpose, association, and connection. Balancing the chakras is not only beneficial for our wellbeing it is the only way we can communicate and unite with cosmic energy.

Where do you find the base/root chakra?

It is located between the genitals and the anus.

What is the purpose of the root chakra?

The root chakra links the individual with the physical; world – defining and accepting “being”. It is the foundation of evolving and building our personality. The root chakra is about energy, self-expression, ambition, consistency, our need for security and survival.

What effect does balancing have on the root chakra?

It is calming and reduces tension. It brings the root chakra into harmony. Helps parts of the body that are associated with the root chakra.

What is the Massaging/balancing direction of the root chakra?

Clockwise for men

Anticlockwise for women.

When the root chakra is in harmony.

There is a profound trust, connection and understanding of nature.

When the root chakra is out of harmony.

Material possessions are the main focus in life with little trust in nature. There is a strong desire to satisfy your own desires and wishes.

What Body parts are associated with the root chakra?

Dense, solid parts of the body – bones, teeth, nails, legs, arms, intestines, anus, prostrate.

The colour of the root chakra.


What crystals and gemstones can be used to balance the root chakra?

Agate, bloodstone, garnet, ruby, smoky quartz. Any of these can be used for chakra balancing.

Which essential oils can be used to balance the root chakra?

Cedar, love, cypress, marjoram, and myrrh.

Which zodiacs and plants are connected to the root chakra?

Aries, Taurus, Scorpio, Capricorn, Mars, and Saturn.

What is the element of the root chakra?


Don’t forget that you can use your Nu-Me to balance any and all of the chakras and have a look at our crystal chakra balancing sets that make chakra balancing super easy!


Tags: orgoniteenergy balancingchihealthchakra balancingchakra healinghealing with crystals